AAA  Apr. 23, 2014
Harley-Davidson stock revs up
  •       Text Size    
  •       AIM Article
  •       Share Article

Buy AP Photo Reprints

Even a long, cold winter didn’t keep motorcycle buyers from the showroom last quarter. Harley-Davidson reported stronger-than-expected earnings for the first quarter after dealers sold more bikes around the world.

The results sent Harley-Davidson to its highest price since 2007. The stock is closing in on its record high of $75.50 set in November 2006. It’s been a steady climb for the company’s stock since it plunged more than the rest of the market amid the financial crisis. It lost 63.7 percent in 2008, ending the year at $16.97, but since then it has beaten the Standard & Poor’s 500 index for five straight years. It’s doing so again so far in 2014.

Last quarter, the company earned $265.9 million, or $1.21 per share, above analysts’ forecast of $1.07 per share. Dealers worldwide sold 57,415 new motorcycles during the quarter, up 6 percent from a year earlier. Sales were particularly strong in Asia, the company said.

Associated Press
Copyright 2008 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

©  Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.